A Year in Books: 2011

This yearly wrap up isn’t late! I’m working on a lunar calendar, so it’s right on time. :)

This was a good year for reading. My new commute to work has given me an extra 45 minutes of time to read, though the new smartphone does sometimes pose a distraction. I met my reading challenge for 2011 of 80 books and have set a new one of 86. In 2012 I’d like to branch out a bit more, read more non-fiction, some travel writing, and discover at least one new author with a deep backlist I can dive into.

So with goals reviewed and new goals set, here are the numbers for 2011. (Full spreadsheet here if you’re interested in that kind of stuff.)
 TOTAL READ: 84
Confession: 84 is total books that I cracked open, not total book read-all-the-way-through.  There were more DNF’s this year (no time to waste with books I don’t love). The number of books fully completed is 79.

Categories
Fiction: 5
Non-Fiction: 11
Historical Fiction: 9
Romance: 21
Erotica: 1
Mystery: 14
Fantasy: 9
Graphic Novel: 6
Young Adult: 2
Yoga: 3
Poetry: 0

I get a big, red F in the poetry field. It was even a 2011 resolution to read more poetry and I just never quite got there. Surprisingly, I read very little erotica. From someone who really likes this genre, it was surprising to find so little on my list.  Also almost no travel writing, which is another favorite genre. Just to be clear, most of my graphic novel reading was the wonderful Walking Dead series. (Seriously you guys, the TV show has NOTHING on the books. SO GOOD!).

For other interesting number crunchings and munchings, I read 19 ebooks. The library is still my go to place, but every so often I find that I have to buy. Mostly because I’m still 50-something in line at the library for a bookclub book that we’re talking about next week.

Ratings
5 stars (It was amazing!): 6
4 stars (Really liked it): 36
3 stars (Liked it): 23
2 stars (It was ok): 16
1 star (Didn’t like it):  3

I find most of my reading falls into the “B+” category: good, solidly entertaining, interesting, with moments of wonderful creativity. It was interesting to notice, when going back and looking at my reviews, how many I wanted to change to a lower star rating. Seems as though I am much more generous when reviewing once I finish a book, but as time passes, I’m much more critical.

Best books of 2012 (the Five Stars)
Anatomy of the Spirit, Caroline Myss
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, Rebecca Skloot
A Life Worth Breathing, Max Strom
Unlocked (Turner #1.5), Courtney Milan
What I Talk About When I Talk About Running, Haruki Murakami
Light on Life, B.K.S. Iyengar

Worst books of 2012 (the One Stars) 
Matched (Matched #1), Allie Condie
Leonardo’s Swans, Karen Essex
Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy, John LeCarre

So, Perusers, what were the best books you read in 2011? The worst? Any reading goals for 2012? 

4 responses to “A Year in Books: 2011

  1. Interesting, Tinker Tailor was one of my favorite books of the year. But I agree completely with Henrietta Lacks

  2. Yeah, I might go back to Tinker Tailor eventually. Just SO wasn’t feeling it at the end of a long, busy holiday season. Too intense and too depressing. :)

  3. Abby! My dad and Rachel loved Tinker, Tailor. Do yourself a favor though, don’t watch the movie unless you’ve finished the book. I was totally lost. The acting is amazing but I had NO idea why I was supposed to care about the characters. love you! meg

Leave a Reply

