Thank You

I want to write a thank you letter to the world. In the past few days/weeks, the outpouring of love and support has made this unexpected injury and “time out” a gift rather than a nightmare.

Thank you to all the friends, family, coworkers and neighbors who called, texted, sent flowers and cards, brought food and entertainment (extenda-forks!), sent gift certificates, and offered Netflix and HBO log-ins. I am so grateful for each and every one of you.

Thank you to my parents who were willing to drop everything to drive ten hours round trip to take care of me. Recouping/regrouping in Rangeley under your care was the vacation I very much needed. The combination of your love and the Maine mountain air really will cure anything.

Thank you to Paul’s parents who reached out from day one with care and support. Big thanks to Paul’s dad for being my chauffer, guardian and physical therapy buddy on that first day.

Thank you to Sandy, for getting me to the ER, feeding me soup, and hanging out at Starbucks. Eventually I will “shut up” with the thanks. :)

Thank you to the baristas at the Newton Corner Starbucks who comped our drinks and made sure my straw was easily accessible.

Thank you to the Newton Wellsley ER staff. Your patience, kindness and compassion were huge when my “sprained” elbows turned out to actually be broken.

Thank you to Dr Ruchelsman and PA Andrew. You guys rock. Thank you for your knowledge and for attempting to aspirate my elbows. Sorry I cried.

Thank you to the Harvard University Health Service staff for all your help with getting records transferred and assisting a gal without access to a printer or fax machine.

Thank you to my coworkers for the beautiful flowers and for yelling at me to stop working and get off email. I eventually listened.

Thank you to the physical therapy team at Holyoke Center, especially Sheryl Goodrich.  Thank you for getting me in so last minute and for being so positive about my recovery.

Thank you Liza for keeping me whole while in Rangeley. Your mad taping skills and wonderful MFR talents have been key. I do not think I’d be where I am now without you. You have a true gift for healing.

Thank you Sandy Panzella for a fabulous chair yoga class. I am honored to have finally met you.  Thank you, too, for the Ayurvedic counseling and herbs. I’m feeling better already!  Though I promise to take it slow.

Thank you Universe, for hearing that I was getting overwhelmed with life. I’m not sure you needed to be so drastic with you message of “slow down”, but message received. Loud and clear.

And most importantly, thank you Paul. You fed me, brushed my teeth, put my glasses on, learned how to make a ponytail, learned how hair barrettes work,  kept me clean and dressed. You let me cry and then made me laugh. You took on all the cleaning, laundry, grocery shopping, and cooking. If that wasn’t enough, you added on chauffeur and physical therapist, all the while working full time from home. In between the conference calls and daily work, you took it all on without complaint. Your mantra of “well get through it and we’ll have fun doing it” helped me stay positive. I love you. I love you so much. Thank you.

One response to “Thank You

  1. Thank you Abby, for blessing us with your ever present fabulous attitude and reminding everyone to not sweat the small stuff. Your beautiful smile made everyone’s day better who came in contact with it and Rangeley is better for having hosted your vacation. I love you lots!
    -Your sister from another mother. Mwahh!

Leave a Reply

