Accepted!

Today I received one of the most exciting emails ever — an acceptance letter into the Winter 2009 Teacher Training program at Prana Power Yoga.  I am so excited!  This is something I have been thinking about and working on for about a year and it is so exciting to finally, really, truly be on that path.

Coming to a decision about what type of yoga I wanted to learn to teach, where I wanted to get my certification, and how this was going to fit in with the rest of my life were questions that kept me puzzling about it all for a long time.  Cost was also an issue – a big issue.

The first step was talking to everyone I knew about yoga: my landlady (former yoga teacher), my current yoga teachers, other people who practice yoga, and reading everything I could about studios and teacher training programs.  Come to find out, the classes I liked the best and the practice I most enjoyed and felt most challenged by were the classes taught by people who had come from the Prana Power Yoga program.

Serendipitously, Prana has a studio a block from my apartment and the most competitive pricing around.  Also, the program is seven weekends, back to back, from February to April.  Oh, and let’s not forget, the fact that Harvard’s tuition assistance program now partially covers non-academic, non-Harvard certificate progams.

The planets aligned, all I had to do was apply and hope for the best.

… and what do you know, the best just happened.

🙂

4 responses to “Accepted!

  1. Woah! Hahvahd will help you pay? That is fantastic!!

    Not to get all hippycrunchy on you but there is a reason why things work out the way they do. 😉

  2. Congratulations Honey!! We will celebrate this weekend! Not to mention a giant hug and kiss!!

  3. Congrats!! you and I are both embarking on new skills. I just started Irish step dance lessons this week!

  4. For this, I wish I lived near you. You’re such a good influence. My half-assed attempts at yoga have been sidelined for a while, and I’d really like to get back into it. Speaking of who, as long as I’m still employed by the airlines, I could totally fly into Bean Town one morning, take the subway, meet you for the morning/afternoon, and head back home that night, if you’re ever interested! 😉

Leave a Reply

