Seattle: Part II, Meeting “The One” after you’ve already met “The One”

The Inuit people of North America have a hundred words for snow.  The same is true with Seattleites and rain.  In the six days I was there we had mist, light mist, heavy mist, rain, drizzle, sprinkles, scattered showers, light showers, sporadic showers, downpours, heavy rain, and cats & dogs.  (Just kidding about the last one.  Though if I heard Renee Montagne say it, I wouldn’t have batted an eyelash.

Despite the weather, which really wasn’t all that bad, Seattle is an amazing city.  Socially-conscious, artistic and open, I felt like I was in a near-perfect hybrid of Edinburgh (weather) and Boston (kick-arse city on the water), but with the added benefits of liberal hippie/yuppieism with a dash of ironic hipster, lest everyone get too serious about it all.  It wouldn’t be a lie to say that if I had visited in 2007, I would now be writing this blog from Seattle instead of Boston.  And yet, how wonderful to fall in love with a place and know that it will always be there for a visit.

So, without further ado (and maudlin meaderings) here are some photographic highlights:

(More pics on Flickr!)

Steel girders at the breathtakingly modern Seattle Public Library

Steel girders at the breathtakingly modern Seattle Public Library

)

Yes. we saw them throw fish. Yes, it was very very cool. 🙂

Northwest Native American art in Occidental Park (I think!)

Northwest Native American art in Occidental Park (I think!)

Sea Otters at Seattle Aquarium - utter cuteness

Sea Otters at Seattle Aquarium - utter cuteness

The hostess with the mostess and "extended family"

The hostess with the mostess and

3 responses to “Seattle: Part II, Meeting “The One” after you’ve already met “The One”

  1. How cool was the fish market? Like on a scale of one to ten, was it Blue Man Group cool, or like going on vacation for 14 days cool?

  2. UGH. I’m so torn. I’ve now been to Portland but have not seen Seattle. I fear moving to one and feeling like I should be living in the other. I’d straddle the middle ground, but then I’d be too lazy to drive an hour to either one on a regular basis!

  3. BUT – I just realized I skimmed over the sea otter picture. They are one of my all-time favorite animals!!! Oh, the dilemma…

Leave a Reply

