The End of Christmas Cards

This is it.  After this year, there will be no holiday cards sent from Casa de Abby. No, I’m not turning Grinchy, but I’ve come to the realization that cards are a waste of time, money and resources – mine and yours.

Inspired by what a cousin did this year in lieu of cards, next year I’ll be calculating the money I would have spent buying cards and stamps and the time spent writing and mailing, and donating the sum to a local charity.

Let me know in the comments if you have any recommendations for local, charitable organizations in the Boston area.  After all, this is your holiday card for next year, so go ahead and have a say!  🙂

7 responses to “The End of Christmas Cards

  1. That is a great idea. I planned to cut back a little bit this year, thinking I would do an e-card. Then I kind of changed my mind and sent out a bunch anyway. So now the e-card will go out to this small, random list of people and maybe all the people who got regular cards as well. Not sure.

    I’d say make the donation to a local food bank.

  2. I loved your card – very cute and creative!

    Starting with little things this year, I think Christmas, overall, is going to be WAY scaled back for next year. Just focus on the important things: friends, family and sharing.

    A local food bank is a great suggestion.

  3. Hi Abby!

    Love your blog 🙂 I’m totally in agreement with you about the whole Christmas card task! I just started mine, and it seems like such a daunting task. However, this year I did buy my Christmas cards through Robin Hood (http://www.robinhood.org/home.aspx), a nonprofit in NYC working to end poverty in the city. Each card indicates that a donation has been made in the recipient’s honor: https://www.robinhood.org/default.aspx?umbPage=/take-action/holiday/holiday-card-order.aspx&utm_source=landingpage&utm_medium=site&utm_campaign=HolidayCards

    Maybe there is something like this in Boston!

    Hope you are well and Happy Holidays!

  4. Hi Kate! Thanks for the heads up about the Robin Hood organization. I’ll make that suggestion for friends in the Boston area. I love the concept!

  5. Hi Abby! This idea is starting to take root in CNY as well. I am doing both this year (donating and sending) we’ll see what happens next year.

    My suggestion for a charity, donate to your local woman’s shelter. We have a place called Vera House which is available to any woman/child who is domestically abused. During this time of year and especially in this economy, they’re in desperate need for donations.

  6. Hello! Re: suggestions for charities: We donate to the Labrador Rescue League, the non-profit theatre I work for (New Hampshire Theatre Project), and Another Chance Animal Rescue in North Berwick. Paul volunteers at a few places (through United Way), drives for a rescue league to help transport adoptees, and I do chair massage to raise money for Great Works Land Trust and the South Berwick Food Pantry. Hope this gives you some ideas!

  7. Great suggestions JustJac and ladyjane! Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

