Valentine’s Day, Leaks, Chocolate Bar, Cupcakes, and a Cold

No, I haven’t fallen off the face of the planet 🙂

Here is where I’ve been in the past two weeks:

Sakonnet VineyardThe Big Guy took me on a wine-tasting a lovely local vineyard in Rhode Island: Sakonnet Vineyard.  We tried six different wines: my favorite being a ginger-infused german-style wine and their port.  (The port was to die for.  Srsly.)  The ground of the vineyard were beautiful and there were picnic tables and beautiful pieces of sculpture dotting the rolling hills.

Sculpture

Once we got back to Cambridge, I promptly dropped my new camera.  The camera body is fine, but I broke a tiny plastic flange on the lens which connects the lens to the body.  A new lens was ordered from B&H photo, so in the intervening few days, no pictures were taken.

When the new lens arrived at work on Friday in was in the middle of this drama:

plastic sheetingYes, that’s plastic sheeting covering some of the stacks at work.  A pipe in the second floor bathroom burst and water came flowing down through the first floor conference room and into the basement stacks.  Luckily the water was contained in drip pans suspended from the ceiling.  We covered the publicity materials from old exhibits with plastic to protect against some minor splashing.  Unluckily, the leak detection system failed to go off even though the wire was fully submerged into the water in the drip pan.  My supervisor learned about the leak from a colleague and has the presence of mind to check the stacks.

Everything’s fine now, but it was a bit hairy while we figured out the extent of the emergency and possible damage.

The weekend was highlighted by a visit to the Langham Hotel’s Chocolate bar.  Much chocolate was sampled, the sugar highs were high and the resulting crashes were catastrophic 🙂

White Chocolate CheesecakeI maintain my position that white chocolate is not really chocolate.

chocolate fountainArtsy-fartsy picture of the chocolate fountain.

Monday night found me in the middle of writing my long-procrastinated 10 page personal reflection paper for yoga teacher training.  After creating an initial outline, I took a well deserved break to make rainbow cupcakes for work.

Inspired by the brilliant post at Omnomicon, I followed essentially the same steps, but made cupcakes instead of a two-layer cake.

batter bowlsPretty colored batter bowls!

cupcakesThey baked up so big and puffy, with hints of color peeking through the red tops.

finished and frostedEt voila!  These were a joy to make and even more fun to eat.  A huge success at today’s staff meeting, if I do say so myself.  Also a recipe I plan to keep around and use more often in the future.  I’m already envisioning color-themed cupcakes for all future holidays. 🙂

And that brings us to tonight.  I had a slight head cold: just enough to make me feel kind of icky.  Got a date with some Nyquil and my pillow in about 10 minutes.  Yoga paper’s finished (yippee!) and there will be a blog entry on that as some interesting thoughts came up in the process of writing.

Hope you’re all having a great week!

5 responses to “Valentine’s Day, Leaks, Chocolate Bar, Cupcakes, and a Cold

  1. White chocolate is most certainly NOT chocolate, and I will have words with anyone who says otherwise!! 😛

  2. Glad you’re back!!!

    I would LOVE to have the recipe for the cupcakes! PQ (and Papa H) would love them!!!! *WINK*

  3. Mama H, the recipe is in the link above. The one for Omnomicon, which is where I got the inspiration. It’s essentially a box of white cake mix (HAS to be white) divided and colored with food coloring. So easy and so pretty!

  4. I have been stalking you this am!! Reading your wall and blogs. You certainly have alot of friends!
    Life is good!

  5. I’m slow… I didn’t realize the chocolate bar you were referring to was THE chocolate bar… The one we drooled over when we saw you up there… The one we swore we needed to come back and attend one day!! Hmm…

Leave a Reply

