Yoga School – Day 8

M was back in the morning with more pseudo-science. Very little of what she said make sense to me and my experiences.  It also got frustrating when she was doing an “inquiry” with a patient and she would ask these open-ended questions while pressing down on their abdomen.  As soon as they gave her an answer that she liked, she’s said “Ah yes.  I can tell that X is an issue because I can feel a lump in your ascending colon.”  WTF?  It was like going to a psychic who asks these leading questions, picks up on the thread they like and turns the person’s response into their own answer.  Anyways, not everything she shared was ridiculous.  She did have some good and interesting things to say, especially on theimportance of a well-balanced diet.

LOTS of teaching this afternoon.  JB was back again so I knew it was going to be a long day, a tough day, but a great day.  This afternoon’s flow was:

1 Sun A
1 Sun B
Vinyasa through to Crescent twist to the right
up to Warrior II
Parsvakonasana on right
Extended Parsavakonasa on right
Vinyasa through to Crescent twist to left
Parsvakonasana on left
Extended Parsavakonasa on left
Utkatasana – twist on right
Uttanasana
Utkatasana – twist on left
Padahastasana or Pandangustasana
Balance pose: eagle, dancer, Warrior III, tree or Half Moon
Vinyasa to WI and WII on right
reverse Warrior
Triangle on right
Prasritta on right
Parsvottanasana on right
Winyasa to WI and WII on left
reverse Warrior
Triangle on left
Prasaritta on left
Parsvotanasana on left
Tadasana
Balasana

…. we did this sequence 7 or 8 times.  I honestly lost count.

The feedback for all the people who taught this sequence today took a very long time.  Teacher training is supposed to end by 8:00pm and it was 9:30 by the time we were cleaning up and ready to leave.

The upshot to all this is that I really got a chance to feel each pose as we were doing them.  A couple things came up that I’m finding really help.

  • Squeezing shoulder blades together in crescent twist, upward facing dog, parsvakonasana and triangle really help open my chest up.  After yesterday’s anatomy lesson I try to picture the little muscles that control scapular movement drawing together.  That visual gives me the extra oomph I need to open my shoulders and chest.  This is an ongoing challenge for me as I have a tendency to hunch forward.
  • Connecting to the lower abs in the transition from chaturanga – up dog – down dog is so key.  Especially in updog to down dog.  Otherwise the weight ends up in my wrists and shoulders and jeez that hurts!  Dropping my knees and really focusing on engaging my lower abs makes the transition much smoother and less painful.

Those were my two big revelations.  They’re also things I want to remember to cue.  If I’m struggling with it, there must be other people out there who are also struggling.

Today also marks the half way point of  teacher training.  While it will be nice to have my weekends back, I’m really going to miss the training.  It’s challenging, exciting and educational.  I love having the luxury to do something wholly for myself.  The icing on the cake is that I’m sharing that experience with 40 other like-minded people.  It’s incredible and I am so grateful for the experience.

Sleep tight, fellow yogis!!

Leave a Reply

