What I Am Eating

Haven’t done one of these posts in a while and I’ve been cooking some delicious stuff.  Lately I’ve been really inspired by the recipes at 101 Cookbooks and in the Whole Life Nutrition Cookbook.  These two resouces have provided some great recipes to give me the protein and energy I need to get through 36 hours of yoga a week, plus work and attempt a social life — all without animal protein.  I don’t have anything against meat, but I love exploring vegetarian and vegan options.   After all, variety is the spice of life 🙂

So what have I been eating lately?

KALE CHIPS.  These are so delicious and easy to make.  The recipe I found was linked to from The Kitchn.  I had bookmarked this link and had been thinking about trying this for a while, and when I read Peanut Butter and Juli‘s post on kale chips, I knew it had to be done.

kale chips pre-baking

kale chips pre-baking

A quick toss in olive oil, vinegar, salt and pepper, lay the kale pieces on a parchment paper-lined cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 10 minutes or until chips are crunchy but not burned.  I brought a bunch to yoga school and people really seemed to like them.  I have some left over kale from the recipe below and I think I’ll make another small batch.

I also made the Giant Chipotle White Bean recipe from 101 cookbooks.  The only thing that took awhile with this recipe was that I forgot the beans needed to cook for an hour before using.  Whoops.  This also turned out amazing and I can’t wait to dig into it for lunch tomorrow!

queso fresco melted on top

queso fresco melted on top

I realize it looks more like a sweet potatoe cassarole with mini marshmellows melted on top so here’s a side view so you can see all the delicious beany-tomatoey-kaley goodness underneath the melty cheese.

YUM

YUM

This next recipe, which I’m calling Curry Cauliflower with Tofu, was inspired by a co-worker.  She’ll cook tofu and chickpeas in a masala sauce.  I added peas and cauliflower to this recipe and used a jalfrezi sauce instead of a masala.  I wanted something a little spicier and I liked the addition of coconut along with the spice.

cauliflower curry

cauliflower curry

I also snagged some naan from Whole Foods.  I love naan.  Mmmm … naan.

And since I’ve been such a good girl and working really hard in yoga school and at work I supported my local girl scout troop stationed in the Harvard Square T station.

thin mint ice cream sandwiches

thin mint ice cream sandwiches

Add some Stoneyfield Farm vanilla frozen yogurt sandwiched between two thin mints and you have a little slice of heaven in your hand.

thin mint ice cream sandwich

thin mint ice cream sandwich

Leave a Reply

