Decluttering

photo by Wonderlane @ Flickr

photo by Wonderlane @ Flickr

This blog post could also be titled “Letting Go: Part 2”.  Every year I look forward to changing over from the bulky, black/greay winter clothes to the lighter, brighter spring/summer clothes.  It also gives me a chance to declutter and clean out anything I haven’t worn.  My standard rule of thumb is that if I haven’t worn the item for 6 months or more, it goes to Goodwill. (The exception being business suits and formal dresses.)

Everything Yoga has a great post about cleaning out your closet and how challenging and freeing it can be.  Cleaning, decluttering and organizing for me is a huge stress-buster.  I derive a lot of satisfaction and peace from cleaning out, cleaning up and getting rid of extraneous things.  So while I don’t suffer the same level of angst, I can relate to the keeping clothes because they’re still in good shape even though I don’t wear them, and picking and choosing clothes because I think they convey a certain image, even when that image isn’t me.

I also love the discussion of body image and yoga.  Everyone has their days of dissatisfaction with their body, but since starting yoga I feel much better in my own skin.  There have been some changes in my shape since starting a regular yoga practice, but mostly I feel strong.  Stronger than I have ever felt in my life, which isn’t really saying much since I was never an athletic kid. 🙂  But I have muscle tone now and can repeatedly lift and carry my own body weight through sun salutations and arm balances.  There’s also a deeper feeling of strength and security that comes with being able to move your body in challenging ways.  As one woman in teacher training said “If I can touch my toes to the ground in plow, I can start my own business!”  There’s a powerful sense of empowerment that blooms with yoga practice.

Once teacher training is over my big project will be a total overhaul of the closet.  I’m really looking forward to it!

3 responses to “Decluttering

  1. I love to de-clutter as well. In our house, I call it SERIOUS PURGING!! (We have to get rid of things at night when the little is asleep so he doesn’t know that we’re dwindling his collections. He’s a pack rat!!!!)

    Good luck!

  2. I purged my closet this week and took one very large green garbage bag to the thrift shop! My closet looks so much neater and I swear, I am replacing N-O-T-H-I-N-G!!
    Is that photo Your closet? Yikes! It’s time to move some stuff out…who needs all those clothes!
    Good lucj with yoga teacher training this week-end!
    MWAH

  3. HA! No, that’s not my closet. My closet is still somewhat more organized that than, though I think that’s mostly due to the fact that all my shoes, except for my sneakers, have migrated to my office, freeing up closet floor space for fabric, craft supplies and the sewing machine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

