Light on Yoga

Light on YogaAs a fairly new yoga student and newly minted yoga teacher, I’ve been picking up little clues around Yogaville that BKS Iyengar’s Light on Yoga is a must read for aspiring yogis.

So far, I’m on page 24 and already I feel that if Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras are the equivalent to the Old Testament, then Light on Yoga is the New Testament.  Unfortunately, this simile which popped into my head while trying to write this post, is dredging up some of the same resistance I felt with reading the Sutras — I don’t like it when a third party is telling me how to be a good person and that unless I follow their rules exactly, I am a flawed/bad person.  (Clearly there are some issues to be worked out here, too ::wink::)

What I am enjoying is Iyengar’s arguemnt that both types of yoga, the physical and spiritual are needed to open the body, mind and spirit.  On page 22 he says:

“As a mountaineer needs ladders, ropes and crampons as well as physical fitness and discipline to climb the icy peaks of the Himalayas, so does the Yoga aspirant need to knowledge and discipline of the Hatha Yoga to reach the heights of Raja Yoga…”

This fits really well with what seems to be shaping up to be my life philisophy: everything in moderation.  Life is so much more interesting and dymanic when I am flexibile of mind and open in spirit.  The trick for me is also staying grounded in the midst of exploration – not an easy feat for this Pisces! 🙂

Any advice out there from the yoga community as I embark on what looks to be a very enlightening journey with Mr. Iyengar?  If you’ve read Light on Yoga what did you think?

One response to “Light on Yoga

  1. I try to live by the “everything in moderation” mantra, too, but when I quote it to the husb, his response is, “…especially moderation.”

    So there you have it. I enjoy your peregrinations!

Leave a Reply

