Sewing Machine Meme

This came from Sew, Mama, Sew.  Check out their fantastic site.  It’s a treasure trove for sewing-minded crafters.

What brand and model do you have?

Singer … don’t know the model.  It’s from the 1960s, though.

My Old Gal

My Old Gal

How long have you had it?

A few months, but it’s been in the family for years.  My mom got it when she was about 10 from her grandfather.

How much does that machine cost (approximately)?

Oh god, I have no idea!  LOL.  Not sure what the rate of inflation is from the 1960s to now on sewing machines. Anyone have any guesses out there?

What types of things do you sew (i.e. quilting, clothing, handbags, home dec projects, etc.)?

I’m new to sewing but I have big plans for home dec, especially once I move in with my fiance, but I’ve been bookmarking bag and clothing patterns like a mad woman.  They’re all over on delicious.com/AbbyT/sewing if you want to check out what I’m dreaming about. I’m also in love with what I see people doing with vintage sheets and pillow cases and have decided to start stalking my local Goodwill, Salvation Army and other second-hand stores looking for fabulous fabrics. So yeah, I’ve got big plans.  Now I just need the time.  🙂

How much do you sew? How much wear and tear does the machine get?

Right now, not very much.  I made little rice-filled footwarmers and an apron for Christmas, but that was the last action the machine saw.  The rest of the winter was spent getting my yoga teacher training certification, but now that that’s over, I want to get back to sewing.

Do you like/love/hate your machine? Are you ambivalent? Passionate? Does she have a name?

I love my machine.  It’s got great history and I feel like I’m participating in something so much greater than myself and what I create when I use it.  She doesn’t have a name yet, but I’m sure she’ll tell it to me one day.

What features does your machine have that work well for you?

She sews a great straight line … which considering that’s about all I know how to do, it works great for me! 🙂

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine?

The instructions and extra feet were lost years ago so I am learning the machine blind.  Makes for interesting stitches and mistakes!

Do you have a great story to share about your machine (i.e., Found it under the Christmas tree? Dropped it on the kitchen floor? Sewed your fingernail to your zipper?, Got it from your Great Grandma?, etc.!)? We want to hear it!

The most interesting story about my machine is its history.  It was a gift to my mother in the early 1960s from her Grandpa Fritz.  She used it all through high school and college and I remember her making/mending costumes on it for my school plays and productions.  My mother’s a very creative person, though I doubt she’d think that of herself.  Sewing wasn’t a real passion for her, though she always had a great sewing box filled with goodies and this wonderful machine.  When my mom took the machine to get cleaned and serviced, she was shocked to see all the new computerized machines in the store.  I got a hilarious call on my cell phone telling me “You’ll never believe this!  Sewing machines are all computerized now!”  I love my old clunker of a machine, the fact the she weights 40+ lbs, is solid metal inside and out, and most of the markings have been worn off through time and use.

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why?

For learning, absolutely.  For basic stitch work, definitiely.  For complicated stuff, maybe not since all the extra parts and instructions are lost. 😉

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine?

Durability.  Cost.  Ability to do the types of projects you want to do.  Learnability, which is not a real word, but I’d want a machine that is intuitive and easy to learn.

Do you have a dream machine?

The one I have now is pretty dreamy, though I’m sure someday I’ll start coveting a new, computerized machine.  But in the meantime, I love my old girl.

presser foot and needle

presser foot and needle


5 responses to “Sewing Machine Meme

  1. original owner

    So glad that the ol’ machine is still up and running and being creative. Can’t wait to see those Halloween costumes that I know you’ll be designing. Grampa Fritz smiles.

  2. Thanks for this article

  3. Pingback: Sew,Mama,Sew! Blog » » Sewing Machine Master List

  4. Looks like one of the many styles of the Fashion Mates. They were made up until the 1970’s and had quite a few variations in appearance.

Leave a Reply

