The end of the rainbow: UPDATE

185-160_reading_rainbowUPDATE 8/28/09:  News broke today that Reading Rainbow is officially off the air.  Short several thousand dollars, the show, producers and network decided not to renew broadcast rights, though also cited is an educational shift towards “how to read” and away from the “what to read.”

I hope someday this show will come out on DVD.  It would be a crying shame for my hypothetical future children to miss this show.

Thanks LeVar for many wonderful adventures in reading.

I’ll see you next time!

*******************************************************************

Original post written on 8/7/09
Though production on Reading Rainbow stopped a while back, the show was still being aired as a cornerstone show for early literacy on many local PBS stations.  However, news from the intarwebz is showing that more and more stations are dropping it from the air to make way for new and improved literacy programming.

I’m sure these new programs will be wonderful, but I will miss LeVar Burton.  I grew up on Reading Rainbow and used to dream about being one of the kids who got to share a book at the end of the show.

If you’re a child of the ’80s, or a parent of a child of the ’80s, here’s a little nostalgia for you that I think you might enjoy.  But you don’t have to take my word for it! 🙂

4 responses to “The end of the rainbow: UPDATE

  1. Awww that is so sad. I heart Reading Rainbow! i was a total dork and it was one of my favorites shows! At least we have youtube to watch clips. Love the video by the way. Very fabulous! 🙂

  2. Oh that brings back memories. Now I’ll have the theme song stuck in my head all day.

  3. i’ll miss it, too. there’s nothing quite like it on tv… the shift from ‘what to read’ to ‘how to read’ is too bad… once you learn to read is when the fun should begin.

    you’ll be happy to know it’s still available on VHS for borrowing at my library 🙂

Leave a Reply

