Gimmick or Godsend?

Huffington Post has a fun article looking at the various props, toys and what not associated with yoga.  The responses of people voting on each item with a 1 through 10 scale, 1 being total marketing ploy and 10 being an absolute essential.

A couple of the items made me laugh because they truly are ridiculous.  The yoga sandals and the weird looking purple foam bolster are just too silly to contemplate.

I also had a good chuckle when the posted the Savasana Wrap from Lululemon.  Despite the crazy price tag, I have it on my Christmas wish list.  I’ve tried it on and while I certainly wouldn’t drag it to yoga class  (a blanket? in a 95 degree studio??) I would wear it as the very cute jacket it’s meant to be.  Let this be a lesson for Lulu — get too clever and it’ll come back and bite you.

The comments are funny as is the feedback from people who practice or teach yoga.  (Shout out to the commenter who pointed out that neti pots are ancient Ayurvedic science and not a new fad.)

My yoga essentials are my el cheapo $12 mat purchased five years ago from a local grocery store and my Yogitoes for when I practice in a heated studio.   I’ve been considering a travel mat, but that’s still in a nascent stage.

What about you?  What do you find totally gimmicky?  What’s necessary for your yoga practice?

I wonder what Ogden would say about this? (Mmmm, goji berries.)

2 responses to “Gimmick or Godsend?

  1. they still have the savasana wrap at the lululemons where you live?

Leave a Reply

