Farmers Market 10/19/09

Stopped by the every lovely Central Square Farmer’s Market after work today.  I picked up a few Fuji apples from a great fruit and veg stand whose name is totally escaping me.  Parker Farm of CSA fame was also there and I loaded up on root veggies and squash from them.

fennel, potatoes, butternut squah, beets, parsnips and carrots

fennel, potatoes, butternut squah, beets, parsnips and carrots

Peeled, chopped and tossed with olive oil, salt and pepper they went into a 400 degree oven for 35 minutes.  I think they’ll be part of dinner tomorrow.

Two or three weeks ago I got some pickling cucumbers as part of my final farm share delivery.  A few days after I found this great recipe for refrigerator pickles online.  I modified it to use celery seed instead of celery salt, added a dash of hot pepper rice vinegar (hot peppers included) and some whole garlic cloves.  The cukes got sliced and put into empty peanut butter jars and stuck in the back of the fridge for two weeks.

Refrigerator Pickles

Refrigerator Pickles

Oh. My. Gosh.  These babies are delicious! Sweet, spicy, tangy and snappy!

I’ve been snacking on them non-stop and will be very sad when they’re all gone.  If I had known it was so easy to make pickles, I would have done thing long before now!

a snack-sized serving

a snack-sized serving

Leave a Reply

