Stars in Alignment: Vinyasa Flow 11/10/09

yogaalignment

alignment

Vinyasa Flow (60 minutes)
Tuesday 11/10/09
14 peeps
Music: Buddha Bar X mix

(I play music as people are coming in and getting set up.  Once we start, music goes off.  It comes back on after the closing “namaste.”  Since the music post was a pretty popular one, I thought I’d note what was played before/after class.)

child’s pose
downward facing dog
down dog to plank (three times on breath)
rag doll
tadasana
3 Sun As
omitted low push up and up dog
3 Sun Bs
1st B with crescent lunge
2nd B with crescent lunge to low lunge hip stretch
3rd B to warrior I and opening to warrior II
side angle
triangle
prasritta A/B
pivot to front and into eagle
airplane
tree
::repeat from last Sun B through tree::
utkatasana twist
padangustasana
utkatasana twist
padahastasana
step back to high plank and lower on 5
2 locust
1 bow
1 bridge
1 10-count bridge or wheel
supta baddha konasana
happy baby
modified hip stretch on back
(3 stage hip opener)
bound-legged spinal twist
savasana

Worked on simple poses with strong alignment, grounding down through the feet, keeping even balance, stillness and breath-work to support an energetic practice.  The cues to ground down through the feet, big toe mounds and outer-edges of back feet really seemed to resonate/work with the students.  The breath was great today and I hope that can carry over to next week.

Low plank to updog transition is still rough and the cues I’ve been using don’t seem to be helping.  Any suggestions for different cues or ways to get students to think about alignment in the vinyasa sequence?

3 responses to “Stars in Alignment: Vinyasa Flow 11/10/09

  1. A,

    I wanted to share with you that I’ve been going to a couple classes at a center down here in Quincy, and I am learning a lot. In college I took a quarter or two of classes (the classes were so popular that they had to be something like 40 people in them and they were offered 3 or 4 times a day!) and done some practice on my own using videos since then. The classes I’ve been to here are great. The teachers are positive and have helped me really understand how active the poses are. No more just sinking into a pose and using it as a stretch. I can suddenly feel all the things the teachers describe and it’s great!
    Hope all is well with you,
    A

  2. So, I don’t know if this will help but we learned the plank – updog thing last night. Because it’s a foundations class, she went through each of the different poses we go through in doing that before we put it all together. So we did plank, then we did cobra (? hips & thighs on the mat) then updog. So that way we knew what to do each step of the way. Then because we knew what each thing was, she could talk us through it by saying something like “now go into plank, and then cobra and updog” and we all knew what she was talking about.

    Personally, I have found it really helpful to be able to stop her after we do a few things and then have her demonstrate something while we all watch. It’s easier for me to see what I am supposed to do than to try and figure it out from her words (at least at first). So maybe offering to start things off with some demonstrations of where people seem to be getting caught will help? Also, for things like this, I am finding it helpful to be told what to leave on the mat.

    • Good to know! As a beginner I also like a combination of the verbal and visual cues. It’s a hard balance to strike with teaching yoga: how much demoing vs walking around and adjusting. Maybe a quick plank-up-down dog demo would be appropriate … something to see if I can work it in!

      Thank you Andrea & Alison for your perspectives! Wish you could come to my class. Your feedback is great.

Leave a Reply

