9 responses to “Grocery Shopping 101

  1. I live in Boston too, would you mind telling me what CSA you use? I want to sign up for one this year, but am timid. Don’t want to wind up with a bad one.

  2. I’ve signed up with Parker Farm for the second year running. Steve is great and the produce is top notch. Check out his website at: http://web.mac.com/parkerfarm/iWeb/Site/csa%20program.html

    I believe they are still accepting applications, too!

  3. I’d also add that if you can easily get to more than one grocery store, it’s worth it to take the time to price out the things you buy regularly, and see where they’re cheaper. I did this piecemeal after moving to Baltimore, and managed to figure out that, on the whole, one store is cheaper than the other. The few items I found that were more expensive didn’t balance it out for me.

    • A great point, Alison! I did the same between Whole Foods, Harvest Co-op, Shaws and Traders Joes. Ended up cutting out Shaws altogether. It was sometimes twice as expensive as Whole Foods!

  4. Bring your own bags – my grocery store credits me 5 cents a bag for bringing mine.

    And try planting some seeds. Even if you don’t have a yard, you can grow many herbs indoors. Herbs can be super pricey at the supermarket.

  5. This is super helpful, thanks Abby! I’ve become a big coupon clipper and our Stop & Shop always gives you some relevant ones when you check out. Makes me a very pleased customer.

  6. They also credit the reuasble bags too. And no, they aren’t paying me for writing this. 😉

Leave a Reply

