New Year’s Resolutions

I don’t usually make New Year’s Resolutions, but this year I was inspired to make a list of goals.  (Thank you, EZ, for the inspiration!)  Some of these won’t actually be accomplished in 2010, but they’re on the list anyways. 🙂

Goals for 2010

– Get into a safe and stable tripod headstand without using a wall
– Do more yoga: more styles, more places, and teach more
– Get certified in prenatal yoga
– Volunteer more
– Cook more vegan meals
– Learn to make real curry, rather than buying the premade stuff
– Gossip less
– Become more compassionate
– Travel more (even within the state!)
– Actually catch a fish while out fly fishing (and not the trees, rocks, bushes or my own rear end)
– Touch a bamboo fly rod
– Learn to tie flies
– Practice more acts of charity and gratitude
– Pay off my credit card bill
– Write more: blogging, creative writing, journaling
– Discover at least two new authors
– Read a volume of poetry by a contemporary poet
– Spend more time outdoors, even in the city
– Find a cute hat with a big brim and wear it in the summer
– Go to the beach at least twice
– Go downhill skiing at least once more before 2011
– Learn to telemark ski

What are your goals for 2010?

8 responses to “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. I can help you with the contemporary poet bit as my life is full of contemporary poets at the moment… hoping to be one, after all. What kind are you looking for? I will think up some suggestions.

    • Thanks Moriah!! I’d love some suggestions. Something not too obscure would be great. I don’t “get” people who write about a bicycle and then expect the reader to understand they’re really writing about the inevitability of death. 😉

  2. Telemark skiing?! Now there was a surprise! And I think you are already an above average over the top compassionate person. Are you going to start hugging and kissing strangers?

    • I loved cross country skiing and telemarking is essentially cross-country on a downhill slope. Besides, lunges are my favorite part of yoga! Good for the hip flexors, quads and hamstrings!

  3. Large brim lat in the summer….I have always wanted to get away with this. GOOD LUCK!

  4. Hat….not LAT….HAT. Sorry about the typo. 🙂

  5. Pingback: What I’ve Learned in 2010 | Perusals & Peregrinations

Leave a Reply

