Daily Archives: February 2, 2010

Further Cooking Adventures – VEGAN

It’s no secret that I love to cook and experiment with food.  I love the challenge of looking for delicious, healthy recipes that are easy to make and are within my food budget.

This ongoing culinary quest has led me right smack into the middle of some pretty awesome vegan cooking.  Now don’t let the word “vegan” scare you off here.  I let it frighten me away from some great recipes in the past — but no longer!

What got me on this path was my intense love for ice cream was no longer jiving with my body. Poor stomach!  Dairy and I were just not getting along anymore.  So I started to look for the same comfort food I like and crave but with a dairy free version.

Luckily I have a copy of Veganomicon on hand.  If you are at all interested in cooking without animal products, are lactose intolerant or have other diet issues, get yourself a copy of this book.  The recipes are delicious, easy to prepare, and, for the most part, work with a majority of items already in a well-stocked pantry.

This past weekend I made the “Mac Daddy” – a dairy-free version of macaroni and cheese.  While it’s not an exact replica (how can it be) it was pretty damn tasty!  I added in some spinach to make sure I had something green and served it along side some steamed green beans with toasted almonds.  The best part came when I had my roommates taste it — and they had no idea it was dairy-free!  WIN!

I also made this Winter Vegetable Chili from Food & Wine.  To keep in the dairy-free theme, I made the cilantro sour cream from Veganomicon to use as a topping along side some blue corn tortilla chips. WIN AGAIN!  The parsnips add a delicious, earthy bite to the chili and the chipotle peppers are smooth and smoky.

I’ve got pictures of the chili, which I’ll add to the post later today (they’re still on my camera).

Have you been experimenting around with your eating habits since the New Year?   What kinds of recipes have you discovered that have wowed you?