Vegan Adventures: Part II – CUPCAKES!

My first foray into vegan baking was a smashing success thanks to Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World.  This is a fabulous little book for vegans and non-vegans  — so long as you want to make some seriously kick ass cupcakes, this is a perfect guide!!

It’s preaching to the choir to say that these cupcakes actually taste BETTER than traditional ones.  Those who have tried vegan baking know what I’m talking about, and those who haven’t will always be skepitcal until they bite into a perfectly soft, smooshy, creamy chocolate cupcake with vanilla buttercream frosting.

om nom nom

[Please excuse the lack of natural light in these photos.  It was after 10pm but the time I finished and in February in Cambridge, MA, natural light exists only between 8am and 4pm on days when it’s not snowing.]

vanilla with chocolate frosting and dark chocolate shavings

I was so impressed by how easy these cupcakes were to make.  The ingredient list was short, simple and most of the stuff I already had in my pantry.  The only ingredients I needed to purchase was more confectioner’s sugar, high quality vanilla and really, really high quality cocoa powder.  Trust me on this when I say that quality matters here, especially with the chocolate.  Having the really good stuff made these decadent!

Vegan adventures in cooking continue to go really well and I am so impressed by how far vegetarian and vegan cooking has come.  I still suffer from the 1970s impression of alternative cooking when things looked and tasted like wet cardboard.  Never have I been so happy to be proved so wrong!

What’s up next?  I think this Mexican Chocolate Cake is coming with me to a potluck on Sunday night.

[More pics of yummy food and more are up at Flickr…]

Share

Share

6 responses to “Vegan Adventures: Part II – CUPCAKES!

  1. YUUUUUUM!!!!! It’s only 8am and I want one…is that wrong?? hahaha

  2. Recipes like this make being vegan absurdly easy in developed countries.

    I’m not sure if this would translate to backpacking in Cambodia, but at least in Boston, it works pretty well for me. 🙂

    • HA – so true. That’s why I hold to my “vegan when I’m home, vegan/vegetarian when I’m out, and omnivore if I’m traveling/eating at someone else’s table.” Allows me a lot of flexibility and I don’t have to worry about offending anyone culturally.

  3. they look awesome!!!! i think i may have to find that book and try it out 🙂

  4. Definitely do! It’s a good thing to have in your baking arsenal — and great marketing to your customers!

  5. I’ve tried the fauxstess cupcakes from Vegan With a Vengeance. They were a little more time consuming, but oh so very delish. I’ll have to get a copy of VCTOTW. Yours look awesome.

Leave a Reply

