The Risks We Take

You take a risk: sometimes you win and sometimes you loose.

This past weekend, our first floor apartment was broken in to.  They came through the back window (my bedroom) and ransacked all three bedrooms.  Laptops, loose change, laundry quarters and small digital cameras were taken.  It all happened in about 20 minutes, between when I left the house at 9pm and my roommates returned just before 9:30pm.  We had clearly been cased since the motion-detector lights at the back of the apartment had been tampered with.  Both bulbs had been unscrewed.

Besides the obvious feelings of violation and the strange rage at having  my laundry quarters stolen (why I’m more upset by this than my laptop I don’t know), there is a sense of resignation … it’s almost peaceful in a weird way.  What I’ve come to realize in the last 48 hours is that these are the risks we take when we live in a city.  These are the risks we take when we choose to live in an area that is known for occasional break-ins.  These are the risks we take when there’s an economic downturn and people are looking for easy money at the expense of others.  The yogi in my also chimes in with the idea that these are the risks we take when we attach ourselves to material things.

I’m trying to see this as a great, cosmic lesson in non-attachment.  It’s challenging because I can’t make sense of it.  I can’t justify the actions of those who stole from us.  (I tried at first and it rang false.)  It sucks.  It’s a sucky, sh*tty thing to happen and it was perpetrated by opportunistic a-holes.  The best I can come up with is that it’s a risk.  And we lost.

So where do we go from here?  We met with our landlord who is going to be bumping up physical security around the apartment with everything from new door locks, new window locks and most likely bars on either the inside or outside the windows.  The other thing that will happen is obtaining renter’s insurance.  It was very foolish of us not to carry this beforehand and we are paying the price for our naivety.

While it’s unlikely the lightening will strike the same place twice, we will be further mitigating our risk with new security, insurance and a few other small changes to household rules.  No risk can be totally neutralized but we’re moving forward with greater awareness, greater consciousness and greater preparedness.  And that can only be a good thing.

Share

13 responses to “The Risks We Take

  1. I’m so sorry this happened to you, and I’m extremely thankful that none of you were home. Breakins are one of the things I fear most since moving to the city. We live in a nicer area, but I am very uncomfortable that people don’t respect property and personal space here, whether it’s our neighbors deciding to pull over the median strip and use our driveway to exit rather than making a 3 point turn in their own driveway or finding footsteps in the snow crossing through our backyard. And it’s not just the material posessions that are broken or taken when someone breaks in, it’s your sense of security. Someone tried breaking into Eryn’s place here in Worcester while she was home with the kids. Luckily they took off but not without leaving some emotional damage.

    Hopefully the security measures work and you won’t be faced with this again. *Hugs*

  2. I love how positive change and positive attitude can come from life lessons when bad things happen to good people. This is truly being proactive, not reactive which ultimately undermines a sense of well-being.
    You’re still in charge and moving forward and life goes on.
    I guess it’s like this: when life gives you lemons, make lemonade!! : )

  3. And that picture is CREEEEEPY!!

  4. Total empathy here. Had it happen to me in my first rental apartment in Boston. Knew about renters’ insurance but hadn’t gotten around to purchasing it yet.

    It’s useful and interesting to observe whatever feelings of fear and anger that arise: a desire for justice, revenge or retribution; viewing strangers with suspicion; blaming others for the situation or for allowing it to occur.

    These feelings are natural impulses emanating somewhere from deep within our animal/human heritage–our complex neurophysiology (or, if you prefer, mind-body)–and are best fully embraced and then released.

    Easier said than done, of course. Yoga helps.

    • Yoga absolutely helps. Going to class on Sunday got my mind off all the craziness and Monday’s practice was so balancing. Feeling more on an even keel today and ready to get back into my own teaching and deliver a solid class without distractions and “checking out”.

    • Really sorry to hear that you went through something similar. It sucks.

  5. Sucky, sucky, sucky. My renter’s insurance isn’t too bad. I also get a discount on it through the BU alumni association, so take a look at that as you price things out. Totally worth the peace of mind.

  6. I’m so sorry to hear this, and glad no one was hurt.

  7. I second hiring Blackwater. You can take the Advanced LE / Military Sniper class. No one will bother you then.

Leave a Reply

