Variations on a Vinyasa

With six classes and a full time job I’ve finally come to terms that there’s no way to keep up with blogging every single class, especially since I pretty much just operate with variations on a theme.  So here’s this week’s core idea.  I’ve tried to include moments where I played around with things and/or introduced new things.  Let me know if you have any questions!

Classes taught this week:
Monday, 6:15am Prana Power Yoga in Cambridge, 75 minutes
Tuesday, 5:30pm Shad Hall, HBS, 60 minutes
Wednesday, 7:00pm, MAC, Harvard University, 75 minutes
Thursday, 6:15am Prana Power Yoga in Cambridge, 75 minutes
Thursday, 7:00pm Hemenway Gym, Harvard University, 55 minutes

rag doll
downward facing dog
down dog to plank x3
broken vinyasa
tadasana
intention setting
3 Sun As
3 Sun Bs
crescent lunge twist
warrior II
reverse warrior
side angle/extended side angle
reverse warrior
half moon
triangle
pivot to front
parsvotonasana (or warrior II/airplane)
standing leg split

balance sequence
OR
utkatasana twist with side crow
padangustasana/padahastasana

runners lunge
walk hands around to prasarita A/B
frog

half pigeon
three-legged dog with hip opener/flip dog

dolphin plank with block between thighs or leg lifts
inchworm pose
sphinx/cobra

2 locusts
2 bow
1 bridge
3 bridge/wheel combos
supta baddha konasana
happy baby
inversion
spinal twist
savasana

On Saturday I went to a great workshop led by Alex on creative sequencing.  In the workshop we worked on ways to identify the ability and energy level of our students and how to sequence to meet those needs.  We talked a lot about the five major lines of he body and which poses activated and opened those channels.  Alex broke it down for us in a really simple pattern: Integrate, Awaken, Heat, Reset, Build, Rebalance, Restore.  Following these “guidelines” will help build a sequence that will work for any class.

This week I’ve been trying to integrate that into my teaching.  It’s a lot to taken in, though it builds really well on everything I learned in teaching training and what I’ve learned in the past year of teaching. I’ll confess, though, it’s hard when I’m operating on near burn-out level with teaching.  Thank goodness this workshop came when it did.  It’s re-inspired me at a time when I needed inspiration to carry me through this coming month and it’s given me a focus.  I’m looking forward to having more time for my own practice through the summer to really sit with a lot of what I’ve learned and let it soak into my brain.

Teaching from this perspective, from a fully integrated flow, has made it easier to teach in certain respects.  It’s mentally more challenging and now I REALLY can’t check out, however, the flip side of that coin is that despite my weariness I feel more checked in.  It also makes it easier to cue anatomical adjustments and physical cues since the class is sequenced in a way that builds to a specific pose or energetic place.  I know I learned all this back in teacher training, but having it hammered home again, with new language and a year’s experience makes a huge difference.

Teachers: how to you stay inspired?  What is your current teaching methodology?  Do you sequence for energetic balance?  A specific pose?  A bit of both? What do you find most successful?

Share

One response to “Variations on a Vinyasa

  1. Pingback: I Write Like David Foster Wallace and Dan Brown | Perusals & Peregrinations

Leave a Reply

