Saluting the Spirit 2010

Saluting the Spirit 2010 was a hugely successful event!  67 participants, 9 teachers and a handful of volunteers raised $30,000 for Pathways to Wellness and yogaHOPE.

All nine teachers were phenomenal and brought such an interesting and different dynamic to each section of the three hour class.  Jacqui Bonwell got us off to a great start with a beautiful chant and opening meditation and the class just continued from there.  The energy in the room, even towards the end, was so bright and focused.  The dedication of everyone coalesced into an incredible feeling of community and service.  Margaret Mead said be best with

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed people can change the world.

Exhale Spa on Arlington Street provided a beautiful space and they were so accommodating with having 60+ crazy-social yogis running around, making noise and generally being joyful.  Their facilities are really gorgeous — if you haven’t checked them out yet, definitely do!  (Exhale appears with relative frequency through Boston’s Groupon if you’re looking to do it on the cheap.)

My initial fundraising goal was $500, and I’ll confess, I was really nervous about meeting that goal!  This was the first time in a long, long, long time I’ve raised money for a charity event so I wasn’t even sure how to go about the ask.  Luckily I  have a big mouth, a blog and passionate belief in the work of these two organizations, especially yogaHOPE.  In the end I raised $650 – $150 more than my initial goal!!

What bowled me over was the outpouring from all of YOU!  Super generous donations from all corners of my life: family, library school, college, high school, work and yoga.  Donations even came in all the way from France and British Columbia, Canada!!   I know I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again here: I have the best friends and family any one could ask for.  This year has been an especially challenging one and the way you all have stepped up and continued to step up is overwhelming and wonderful.  I have never felt so loved and supported.

This was also a beautiful lesson in abundance.  It seemed that the more I was able to give through donating to friends participating in the same event and becoming more aware of others who are fundraising, the more donations I received in return.  Living from abundance … it really works!

In a small gesture of gratitude to you all, I brought you to class with me.

Thank you so much for your support of me, yogaHOPE and Pathways to Wellness.  You have done so much for these organizations to help them provide love, support and services to people who need it most.

Thank you a million times over.

If you’re thinking of participating in StS 2011, find us on Facebook!

Share

One response to “Saluting the Spirit 2010

  1. Pingback: Tennis anyone? « Perusals & Peregrinations

Leave a Reply

