Yoga Mat to 5K: Run #1

I’m delighted to report that my first run produced no knee pain and only slightly tight quads. My thighs are a little “What the WHAT now?” but I’m sure that’ll pass with a good, supported virasana. 😉

My first run in the “Couch to 5K”, redubbed here as “Yoga Mat to 5K” felt great and I was lucky enough to run it with a good friend and coworker who’s running the New York Marathon this Sunday.  She said she needed “just a little run” to keep warm but not over do it.  Guess my slow pace and beginner status was just what she needed!

new kicks

So what tools do I have for tracking my progress on this journey?  I went to the incomparable Marathon Sports for shoes (Adidas Supernova Sequence) and also picked up a Nike+ iPod receiver and shoe sensor. This awesome little device tracks so much information that it’s going to take me a while to learn all the features.  I like how compact it is, though, and the Adidas sneaker I got even has a little pocket in the footbed for the sensor.

Week One: Run 1 Stats
time: 32 minutes, 45 seconds
distance: 2.33 miles
terrain: Charles River trail (half pavement/half ground)
music: Podrunner Intervals

Following the prescription of the Couch to 5K plan, I walked for 5 minutes to warm up and then alternated 60 seconds jogging with 90 seconds walking.  I will confess, a couple times I stretched the jogging out a little bit more than 60 seconds, but never so much that I jogged though the walking.  The first run may have felt “good” but I was still ready to walk when the beep sounded!

Second run is scheduled for Saturday!

Share

9 responses to “Yoga Mat to 5K: Run #1

  1. I’m so proud of you!

  2. You even made me want to run ! Maybe I could find a nice trail along the Garonne… Nice job on the timing 🙂

  3. I wish you all the props and luck in your goal. I have tried that plan three times already, as I have issues with jogging (personally and physically), and this has been a program that I think works very well. The first time I did it, I got as far as week 8. I’d never seen my stomach as flat before, fo sho. But then my bad hip got janked up with sharp pains, so I stopped. Part two lasted about a month. Part three started a month or so ago, but I only got to week two before I severely jacked my lower back while doing post-jog yoga, of all things. Haven’t been brave enough to go back out yet, but I think next week, C25K – IV must begin. See you at the finish line!

    • OUCH, girlfriend! Sounds like you need some serious TLC (and maybe some gait analysis) to prevent those injuries. If you decide to get back into it and find success we should run a 5K together. I’ll totally fly out to you!!

      • Holy crap – the day the words “I’m going to run a 5k” fall out of my mouth, my husband might check to make sure my body hasn’t been taken over by alien forces. But if it has, you’re on. 🙂

  4. Pingback: My Favorite Things | Perusals & Peregrinations

  5. Pingback: Yoga Mat to 5K: RACE DAY! | Perusals & Peregrinations

Leave a Reply

