What I Read – November 2010

YAY!  November’s “Month in Books” is finally here.  Let the villagers rejoice!

As always, links will take you to my complete reviews on Goodreads.com and asterisks mark books that are on the FAVORITE shelf.  (As in OMG YOU GUYS THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER!)

While we’re on the topic of discussing books, here’s a bookish holiday question: are there any books on your Christmas Wish List?  If so, what are you hoping Santa will bring you?
The Slightest Provocation, Pam Rosenthal
4 stars
Not your typical romance!  Unexpected depth and tough situations for each character to wrestle with.  Might be too serious for those looking for a lighter, fluffier story, but I loved it.

Moloka’i, Alan Brennert
4 stars
The life of Hanson’s disease sufferer Rachel Kalama is beautifully rendered in a novel as much about life as it is the history of Hawai’i itself.  Think Michener but more focused and with better characters.

Mine Till Midnight, Lisa Kleypas (Hathaways #1)
3 stars
I was “meh” about this before since I thought I had already read it and disliked it a lot.  Turns out it was the second in  the series that I loathed.  This book is much better in dealing realistically with the characters and the issue of being ethnically different in early 19th century British society.

The Places That Scare You, Pema Chodron
4 stars
Another gem from Chodron for people looking to heal after personal crisis or anyone looking to reframe how they approach life.

Let the Great World Spin, Colum McCann
3 stars
After putting this book on hiatus numerous times I finally finished it.  It is definitely damning this book with faint praise to say that it’s easy to pick up and put down.  Well-written, just not all that engaging.

*Mockingjay, Suzanne Collins (The Hunger Games #3)
5 stars
If you haven’t picked up this series yet, DO IT NOW.  All my YA librarian friends have been touting this series for ages and I am so glad I finally clued in and listened.

The Lost Girls, Amanda Presser, Holly Corbett & Jennifer Baggett
4 stars
Think a younger, more insightful, better written, far more interesting and certainly less self-centered and whiny Eat Pray Love and you’ll have a general sense of The Lost Girls.  A charming and engaging story of three friends who leave NYC behind and travel around the world for one year.

Share

2 responses to “What I Read – November 2010

  1. I felt that same way about Let the great world spin, but have a hard time admitting it because it’s admirer’s are so numerous.

    I’m asking Santa for Vegan Yum Yum, Big Girl’s Don’t Cry by Rebecca Traister, Max Strom’s A Life Worth Breathing, Running the Books: The Adventure’s of an Accidental Prison Librarian, and Born to Run. I know, I’m greedy for books 🙂

  2. Jen, I heard Strom’s A Life Worth Breathing is great. He was supposed to do a workshop at my local yoga studio but had to reschedule. Hoping the new date works because I’d love to work with him.

Leave a Reply

