My Favorite Things

Oprah does it (in a big way).  There are websites dedicated to tracking it. It’s even a song in a pretty well-known musical 😉
Though I’m not usually a bandwagoner, (for most popular things I tend to take the perverse teenager response of “I’m not gonna and you can’t make me” until the hype dies down and then I’ll quietly check it out … see iPods, netbooks, most popular fiction and music), I thought it would be fun to compile my own list of my favorite things.

So here’s a list of things new and old that I am loving.  I hope you’ll share your lists, either on your blog space, Facebook or here in the comments!

Books:
The Hunger Games Trilogy, by Suzanne Collins
How Yoga Works, by Geshe Michael Roach & Christie McNally
Romance Novels: I love a good, steamy, laugh-out-loud funny romance novel.  What I love even more than reading romance, is trying to get non-believers to give the genre a try.

Music:
Mumford & Sons: obsessed with their sound and vocals.  It was love at first listen by then took me three months to figure out who they were/remember enough of the lyrics to Google it to find out.

Enter the Haggis: perennial favorite but their latest album continues to be on high rotation on the iPod.

Fitness:
Yoga Mat to 5k!  On Week 5 of the Couch to 5K program [redubbed for my purposes as Yoga Mat to 5k].  Who knew running could be so much fun!

Lotuspad Yoga Mats:  I bought this mat ages ago and it has only improved with use and age.  Cushy, lightweight and sticky it’s the best I’ve found.

Lululemon Run:Dash Pullover: I ran in this pullover, with a lightweight fleece vest, in 20 degree temperatures over Thanksgiving.  The “cuffins” (fold-over cuffs that double as mittens), excellent warmth AND wicking make this a top I live in.  No joke.  I wear it all the time to run, out to dinner, on the weekends and in yoga. Pricey but worth it.

Food:
Portobello mushroom pizzas: little tiny pizzas inside a Portobello mushroom cap.  Scoop out the gills and trim down the stem. Add fillings of your desire, spoon in some tomato sauce, top with a sprinkle of cheese and stick in the oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.  Bon apetit!

Making my own breakfast bars.  Quick, delicious and with some recipe modifications, way less sugar than any breakfast bar out on the market.  Next up, I want to try making my own energy/protein bars!

Menu planning, food shopping and saving recipes.  I love to think about and make food and while I rarely follow a recipe exactly (a big reason why I’m a crappy baker) I love to read recipes and cookbooks.  I save all online recipes over at delicious.com.  Need some inspiration? Take a look!

What about you?  What are your favorite things?

One response to “My Favorite Things

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention My Favorite Things | Perusals & Peregrinations -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

