Yoga Mat to 5K: Update

the only time treadmills are cool

I’m averaging one run a week right now.  Not good.  Not good at all.  Inability to run outdoors is the number one issue.  Other complicating factors are time and work/teaching schedule.  Even though I let go of one class, I’m still having a hard time fitting in my running, let alone time to practice yoga.

Here’s my question to those who live in winter climates: how do you fit in time for your running? I would especially love to hear from people who also juggle multiple work/fitness/teaching/family commitments.

This week’s run was awesome: felt great, energized and even amped up my pace a little to a little more than a 10 minute mile.  This is FAST for me 🙂

Run #14
time: 33:35
distance: 2.75 mi
pace: 12:10
terrain: treadmill to nowhere
music: Podrunner Intervals Week 6:Mix 1

 

Share

4 responses to “Yoga Mat to 5K: Update

  1. I know it’s frustrating, Abby, but I am very impressed! You’re beating me. We did the first week without too much problem, but have only gone out one time since. I have found it impossible to squeeze in runs between business trips, grad school, and work commitments (not to mention the cold and dark that scares me away the few nights I am home). So I guess I don’t have any advice for you, but I am still proud. And if you do hear from people who are able to fit it all in, please pass along their tips! (Also, even when I ran regularly, I ran 11+ minute miles. So get down with your bad 10 minute mile self!)

    • Thank you, Courtney! Hopefully someone will have advice for us busy ladies. P.S. Hope grad school’s going well. I’m marinating with going back part time in the fall! 🙂

  2. Do you have access to an indoor track at Harvard? I can’t stand the treadmill (or dreadmill as a friend call it) so I usually run at the local park which is cleaned impeccably or try the indoor track at my university.It’s not ideal – 11 1/4 laps = 1 mile!! But it’s better than running through the snowbanks. It’s so hard to fit in a run during my busy work weeks and it’s even harder with snow and ice on the ground. So I feel your pain!

    • We do have a track at HBS, but it’s so tiny I get dizzy running around it. Lame, I know. But true. Today’s almost 50 degrees so I’m hoping that by Wednesday, enough ice will have melted I can try running along the river. I saw a bunch of people out running on Sunday, so there’s hope 🙂

Leave a Reply

