Power, Music, Thunder & Lightening: Just Another Friday Night at Yoga

HOUR OF POWER PRANA2MUSIC FLOW
downward facing dog (hold)
high plank (hold for 8 breaths)
down dog (hold)
walk to front for rag doll
spine lengthen
tadasana
Om Om Om
4 Sun As
4 Sun Bs
utkatasana twist
vinyasa to down dog
warrior II
reverse warrior
side angle lunge
extended side angle
half moon
triangle
prasaritta A
pivot toes to front of room
eagle
::wash rinse repeat::
vinyasa to high plank and hold
down dog
jump through to seated & roll onto back
bridge
bridge/wheel
supta baddha konasana
happy baby
abs with block (from the Alex Amorosi school of abs)
rok & roll & vinyasa to down dog
half pigeon
inversion
spinal twist
savasana
OM

PLAYLIST
Carbon Leaf – “Life Less Ordinary”
The Killers – “Smile Like You Mean It”
Glee Cast – “Forget You” (oh yeah, I put it in here)
Muse – “Neutron Star Collision”
U2 – “Elevation”
Neon Trees – “Animal”
Enrique Iglesias – “I Like It”
A.R. Rahman – “Jai Ho”
Dave Matthews Band – “Best of What’s Around”
Jason Mraz – “The Remedy”
Madonna – “Open Your Heart”
Ozomatli – “Let Me Dream”
Israel Kamakawio’ole – “Somewhere Over the Rainbow”
Mumford & Sons – “Awake My Soul”
The Poozies  – “Another Train”

This was my first Prana2Music and despite being a bundle of nerves I had a ton of fun!  I had a lot of support from teachers and friends, though, so friendly faces always help.  Biggest technical glitch was getting the crossfade to work.  I could get it in iTunes itself, but it didn’t transfer to my iPod, so for future classes I’ll need to work on making that better and more seamless.

After teaching the hour of power to music I taught my regular Friday night flow at 7:30 … to a GIANT thunderstorm!  We had a lot of fun with that in class.  I mean, when the blue lightening is lighting up the studio and the thunder is shaking the walls, you’ve just got to go with the flow!

It was also a great day for questions from my students.  Lots of interesting thoughts about alignment, where feet should be and a lot of “is what I’m feeling ok?”  I love these questions as it’s a chance for me to get to know the students better, to reassure them, maybe offer a helpful adjustment if needed, but really to support them in their practice.

Overall, it was a crazy fun night and absolutely captured the very reasons why I teach yoga.

Share

4 responses to “Power, Music, Thunder & Lightening: Just Another Friday Night at Yoga

  1. The Poozies – “Another Train”
    This one was really poignant. I was meaning to look it up or ask you but you already had the playlist posted…

  2. Love your flow 🙂 gonna try it at home !

  3. Love the playlist!!

Leave a Reply

