A Month In Books: June 2011

I love summer reading;  I tend to indulge even more in the summer in reading whenever and wherever I can.  There’s nothing like reading lakeside or at the beach.

Interestingly, this month I read two romances that epitomize the polar ends of the genre for me. I tend to categorize my romances by the type of plot they use. One of my favorites (when it’s done well) is the enemies to friends.  My least favorite I wrote about here.

Reviews past the jump. All links take you to my full reviews on Goodreads.com

Miss Wonderful (Carsington Brothers #1), Loretta Chase
3 stars
My favorite romance plot line: enemies to lovers, done pitch perfect.  PLUS the heroine is older than the hero. WIN!

The Twentieth Wife, Indu Sundaresan
3 stars
Top notch historical fiction about a time and a place rarely written about.

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire #1), George R.R. Martin
3 stars
First book in a sweeping fantasy epic loosely based on the War of the Roses.  Worth reading the book before seeing the HBO mini series.

Since the Surrender (Pennyroyal Green #3), Julie Ann Long
2 stars
This was unfortunately my second least favorite romance plot type.  Alas, I couldn’t get over the set up to enjoy the characters reconciliation. Just didn’t work for me.

The Walking Dead (Hardcover #6), Robert Kirkman
4 stars
More about rebuilding and resettling, this collection explores the idea that our brave survivors have turned into the crazy people they’ve been fighting against.

Unlocked (Turner #1.5), Courtney Milan
5 stars
I LOVED this novella. Former bully and Mean Boy comes back to make good and former victim must learn to be strong.  Hit home on a lot of levels.

Leave a Reply

