A Month in Books: July 2011

The month that was July saw a whole lot of reading, but very little blog posting.  August looks to be following this pattern: lots of time to read on the new commute, but very little time to blog.  So apologies for the lateness of this post.  I can only hope you’ll forgive me in light of some of the juicy book reviews I have for you below.

A Clash of Kings (Song of Ice & Fire #2), George R. R. Martin
4 stars
The Seven Kingdoms is divided and bleeding. Martin introduces a few new voices who narrate the goings on of a few new places, namely Dragonstone, seat of claimant Stannis Baratheon, and Theon Greyjoy, former ward/hostage of the Starks. Sweeping, epic fantasy at it’s most modern and finest.  (ebook)

Lord Perfect (Carsington Brothers #3), Loretta Chase
3 stars
Refreshingly witty romp that doesn’t rely on any tradition plot device (see: Big Misunderstanding) for dramatic tension. Just two adults, falling in love.

Madame Tussaud, Michelle Moran
4 stars
Fascinating retelling of the French Revolution through the eyes of a famous, yet little-known (at least to me) historic figure. Wonderfully and thoroughly researched without detracting from a taut narrative.

The Weed That Strings the Hangman’s Bag (Flavia de Luce #2), Alan Bradley
3 stars
Precocious, poison-obsessed Flavia is back! I love following her adventures and the only thing that kept this book from getting more stars was that the actual mystery was a little too easy to figure out.

And Only To Deceive (Lady Emily #1), Tasha Alexander
2 stars
Wasn’t impressed with this one. Lady Emily was inconsistent at best, and downright stupid at worst.  Perhaps because I was expecting another Deanna Raybourn, I let my expectations get in the way of my enjoyment.

*What I Talk About When I Talk About Running, Haruki Murakami
5 stars
I love books that combine passions with autobiography. In a similar vein to Stephen King’s On Writing, What I Talk About… is an honest, brilliant memoir-cum-expose on long distance running. As a new runner, I felt inspired to get back on my feet and get out there.

Poser: My Life In Twenty-Three Yoga Poses, Claire Dederer
4 stars
If you were annoyed by Eat Pray Love, then Poser will ring your bell. Dederer is honest, witty and insightful into life, yoga, parenting and even a bit on feminism, without resorting to self-pity and woe-is-I tales of narcissism.  (Can you tell I really didn’t like EPL?) ::wink::

Leave a Reply

