Ranty McRant: Yoga Marketing

img by D. MartinezI’ve been finding myself increasingly annoyed by yoga  marketing,  particularly the marketing of classes, workshops and retreats that show super-fit instructors in crazy arm balances and/or inversions.

via yoginimla.wordpress.com

Let me give all you marketers and yoga teachers out there a heads up: showing yourself (or your client) in some crazy pose that only about 1 in every 5,000 yoga practitioners can only dream about does NOT make me want to take your class.  Instead, it has the opposite reaction.

I do not want to be in a space where that kind of pressure to perform may be in any way enforced.  At this point in time in my own practice, I have no desire to try and learn how to get my big toe up my nose, rest my other foot on my head, all the while balancing on my left pinkie finger. Mostly, I do not think that just because you can do said pose shows me, or gives me any incentive to try out your class/workshop/retreat.

generic yoga pic

Show me YOU. You doing what we’re going to learn. If that happens to be crazy arm balances, great!  If it’s a workshop about meditation and yin yoga, don’t be rocking a full scorpion. Heck, I’d even take a generically pretty yoga picture over something that has no representation of reality.

4 responses to “Ranty McRant: Yoga Marketing

  1. I would like to second the motion… the motion has been seconded. Third reading scheduled for…

  2. HAHA! Thanks Kate! 🙂

  3. great article sister. you’re funny. xo

Leave a Reply

